“I love my job…I love my job…I love my job…”

Here’s a way healthcare delivery organizations can act more responsibly.  Employee satisfaction.  After all, having happy employees is an important part of running a hospital (or other facility).

A recent study in the March/April 2011 volume of the Journal of Healthcare Management (56:2) from the American College of Healthcare Executives (ACHE) discovered that nursing staff who “perceived less missed nursing care…are more satisfied in their current position and occupation.”  “Missed nursing care” is identified as necessary patient care that is ommitted.

 

To the right is a diagram, scanned from the hard copy of the journal, depicting a conceptual framework for how these factors relate to each other.  Here we see that some of the elements that lead to missed nursing care are related to personnel situations that aren’t out of the control of management.

Additionally, (as shared in the study) Aiken et al. (2008) found that “the percentage of nurses who reported that the quality of care was poor or fair (rather than good or excellent) [in their hospital] was twice as high in hospitals with poor care environments as in hospitals with better ones.”

It turns out that it’s in the patient’s best interest if nurses don’t feel the need to whisper irritably under their breath like Emily Blunt in The Devil Wears Prada.

Happy nurses means happy patients.  We now know that nurses are happier when they’re making patients happy.  It’s a win/win vicious circle.

6 Responses to ““I love my job…I love my job…I love my job…””

  1. aklallatin Says:

    Enjoying your job is important for any type of employment but it is more important when it involves people’s health. I found the diagram very helpful and hope that when I go to a hospital there is less missed nursing care so I can receive the best treatment.

  2. cameronrice Says:

    agreed.

  3. amandakoch Says:

    Yeah I definitely think that a happier nurse leads to better care of the patients which leads to happier patients which leads to happier and more hardworking nurses.

  4. breastfeedinginutah Says:

    I also agree. I think when a person enjoys their job whatever it is they treat the customers or in this case patients with more care and everyone is happier and they tend to go above and beyond what is expected of them.

  5. best naruto shippuden episodes Says:

    Does your blog have a contact page? I’m having a tough time locating it but, I’d like to send you an e-mail.
    I’ve got some creative ideas for your blog you might be interested in hearing. Either way, great blog and I look forward to seeing it expand over time.

  6. try ageless male - youtube.com Says:

    Wonderful defeat! I’m going to newbie even as you modify your web site, just how may i personally join for your website internet site? A profile helped me a appropriate package. I had been little comfortable of the your own sent out supplied shiny translucent concept

Leave a comment